Merit Commission

The Sheriff’s Office Merit Commission was established in 1970, and is made up of three citizens, who serve six-year staggered terms on the Commission.
They are nominated by the Sheriff to the County Board for appointment but must be approved by a majority of the County Board. The Commission is responsible for overseeing the testing and certification of all positions within the Sheriff’s Office. The Sheriff may not hire full time Deputy Sheriff’s or promote appropriate individuals unless they are certified as eligible by the Merit Commission.

The Merit Commission is vital in maintaining the integrity and professionalism of the Sheriff’s Office. We sincerely appreciate the service of the Merit Commissioners.

Todd Walker

Chairman - Genoa

Bryan Perry

Secretary - DeKalb

Anita Turner

Member - Sycamore